What are the Thoughts of the Mind of the Cosmos?


This is an image of a two-dimensional hypersur...

Image via Wikipedia

To give the only honest answer I can to the above, while there is a lot we as a species are collectively learning about the universe, I don’t think for an instant that I really know.

It’s been my experience that the more one truly understands, the more knows what they don’t know and understand, whether it’s popular but century-old science like quantum physics that nobody really understands, (and the ones who claim most often that they do are the ones who understand it the least, i.e. proponents of quantum flapdoodle…) or the more recent and trendy superstring theory.

Through deeper understanding of one’s limits, unknown unknowns can stand revealed as at least suspected unknowns, if not known ones.

It’s people who claim the most to be in possession of arcane wisdom gleaned from ancient mystics who really don’t know the depths of their own ignorance and therefore know the least in making their pretensions to knowledge.

Funny thing that they would project that very need onto the sciences and research workers they criticize as being engaged in a futile enterprise.

It’s those who know the most, about themselves and their field of study, who boast of their claims to knowledge the least.

These two videos are a pair of talks I found on the TED (Technology, Entertainment & Design) website, the first being a discussion by Brian Greene and the second by cosmologist Sean Carroll, both discussing powerful ideas that when tested will little doubt enrich our understanding of the Cosmos, to know the thoughts of the mind of (non-theistic)god. Enjoy.

About Troy Loy

I seek to learn through this site and others how to better my ability as a person and my skill at using my reason and understanding to best effect. I do fractal artwork as a hobby, and I'm working to develop it to professional levels, though I've a bit to go till I reach that degree of skill! This is a crazy world we're in, but maybe I can do a little, if only that, to make it a bit more sane than it otherwise would be.

Posted on Thursday, 0:19, May 26, 2011, in Science Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,974 other followers

