Alea Iacta Est: This Site’s 1st Giveaway has Concluded!


As an old-school tabletop gamer, I’ve a penchant for rolling weird dice, and was originally going to use a d20 to determine the winner of the Call’s first giveaway contest for a copy of Margaret Wertheim’s book Physics on the Fringe.

Well, the way things went with the contest entries I thought that a d24 would be more appropriate, with the contestants’ names taken in alphabetical order and each assigned a number, so… *shake* *shake* *roll* *clatter* the winner is…

…Cheryl Volz!

Congrats, Cheryl. I’ll get with you soon to work out shipping arrangements, maybe on Facebook, and thank you VERY much to everyone else who participated.

It’s been a blast!

I’d also like to thank those of you who subscribed, commented, rated or clicked the “like” buttons on entries, reblogged posts on your own sites, and in other ways made this blog an absolute scream to post on during this far-too-brief three years, for an unprofessional dabbler like myself in science geekery and philosophical nerdist topics, an Annoyer of Worlds with more friends than I deserve.

You all have my gratitude and appreciation for the evolution of this blog and its content over time, and I hope to keep things interesting in this site’s promotion of science, skepticism, the occasional posts on critical thinking and yes, my gratuitous fractal artwork and occasional barely coherent rambles, as I improve my clarity of thought and reasoning, such as that sometimes is.

Practice makes you-know-what, after all.

This will probably be my last post for 2011, with updating to resume after the next 72 hours.

I’ve got studying and writing projects, some dealing with this blog’s content, some for furthering my education, and some for fiction I’m working on, so I need to refine the material and do the research required for accuracy.

I’m rather confident that the world will still be here throughout and beyond next year, so silly pseudo-Mayan prophecies notwithstanding, you won’t be rid of me that easily.

Peace out, Peeps. It’s terrific to have met you!

Or as my totally made-up extraterrestrial hominid race, the Kai’Siri, would say…

Talotaa fraang! Togma’uuta vas!

About Troy Loy

I seek to learn through this site and others how to better my ability as a person and my skill at using my reason and understanding to best effect. I do fractal artwork as a hobby, and I'm working to develop it to professional levels, though I've a bit to go till I reach that degree of skill! This is a crazy world we're in, but maybe I can do a little, if only that, to make it a bit more sane than it otherwise would be.

Posted on Wednesday, 20:52, December 28, 2011, in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Congratulations Cheryl – I’m sure you are a happy winner.

    Like

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,079 other followers

