Caturday’s Astronomy Pix for November 4-10, 2012


Lenticular cloud above the Flatirons. Boulder,...

Lenticular cloud above the Flatirons. Boulder, Colorado, USA. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Lenticular Clouds Over Washington

Saturn’s Moon Dione in Slight Color

Methone: Smooth Egg Moon of Saturn

Superstorm Sandy From Formation to Landfall

Arp 188 and the Tadpole’s Tail

Melotte 15 in the Heart

Polar Ring Galaxy NGC 660

A lenticular cloud in New Mexico.

A lenticular cloud in New Mexico. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Caturday’s Astronomy Pix is a weekly installment, published each weekend with links to each daily entry on NASA’s website Astronomy Picture of the Day. I hope you enjoy looking at these often breathtaking images as much as I do.

About Troy Loy

I seek to learn through this site and others how to better my ability as a person and my skill at using my reason and understanding to best effect. I do fractal artwork as a hobby, and I'm working to develop it to professional levels, though I've a bit to go till I reach that degree of skill! This is a crazy world we're in, but maybe I can do a little, if only that, to make it a bit more sane than it otherwise would be.

Posted on Saturday, 21:27, November 10, 2012, in Astropix & Astronomy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love the Colorado picture! I got to spend a day at the Boulder glider port back in the mid-90s. The experienced pilots head for the “standing wave” of lift that helps to create these lenticular clouds. They actually dress in very warm clothes and take supplemental oxygen since flights over 20,000 feet are common. It really is remarkable to see.

    Like

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,059 other followers

