Thoughts on this blog’s future…


Lately, I’ve been spending a lot of time offline, studying, reading, watching lectures of my digital media courses, and next month, taking an online course for the first time. Yay me.

…and there was much rejoicing…*huzzah*

This means less time for social media, little regular time for posting on this blog and it’s sister sites, and less posting of what have been regular features here, well, at least not regularly. Plus, there’s occasional blogger’s block.

I’d blog more often, and regularly, but I’m far too distractible, and learning is really, really important. There’s a lot that didn’t get covered in my early years that needs catching up on and surpassing now, general and more specialized topics, matters of things that require study to learn and master.

Blogging is still enjoyable, mostly, though I’ve been sorely tempted toward burnout at times. There was the deletion in March of 2011 of the blog =^Skeptic Cat^=, and this year, the shutdown of the Left Hemispheres blog and podcast, and current blogging hiatus on Krissthesexyatheist.

The skeptical and atheist communities have for some time had quite a bit of drama, and I refuse to get involved. I know people on all sides, and the bickering back-and-forth just makes me angry. It’s something I’ve so far managed to evade and is a diversion I want nothing to do with. Angry doesn’t suit me. Just read what I’ve posted when angry. This is not my fight. I’m not qualified to get involved.

So far, this blog’s subtitle is Fractals, Skepticism & Things that Interest Me, though I’m thinking about the future direction of this blog and what I’d like to do with it. In the meantime, here’s a bit of something worth a ‘Squee!’ or two.

To close this out,

No, I’m not worried about organized skepticism: Even with the drama going on, it’s doing just fine. It’ll be around for longer than many people think — this isn’t the first, last or only internal conflict for organized rationalism. Even in a world hell-bent on lunacy, it’s rationalism that’s making headway, with setbacks, yes, but also with victories, and I’ve been silent witness to a few, even as a relative no-name in the community.

This blog will continue for the time being, and I’ll post whenever there’s cool stuff that makes me go ‘ding.’ The support that you all have offered over these nearly five years has been a tremendous boon.

So thank you all, and…

Talotaa frang. (Be strong, be well.)

About Troy Loy

I seek to learn through this site and others how to better my ability as a person and my skill at using my reason and understanding to best effect. I do fractal artwork as a hobby, and I'm working to develop it to professional levels, though I've a bit to go till I reach that degree of skill! This is a crazy world we're in, but maybe I can do a little, if only that, to make it a bit more sane than it otherwise would be.

Posted on Wednesday, 3:34, August 28, 2013, in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. brain droppings? eh?

    don’t stop blogging, that’s all I can request.

    All the best for your course! have fun! Nothing compares to learning a new thing.

    Like this

    • The ‘brain droppings’ thingy refers to the musings expressed as standup comic routines of astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson in his stage appearances. I’ll keep blogging, definitely, but in fits and starts rather than regularly. Thank you, Trisha, and I’ll be seeing you on your own blog(s) as well! :-)

      Like this

  2. They executed Socrates and skepticism continued, so no worries there.

    I am no fan of organized thought, however. Too much worrying about the ideological purity of group members. Powerful group leaders tempted to exploit a trusting membership. The rightness of the cause does not make members less suspectible to these failings.

    Like this

    • Yes, you’re right about that. It’s unfortunate that organization makes concerted action possible, but that the tribalism that this involves can and apparently has lead to the partisanship seen in modern skepticism. I think skepticism works best not when we have top-down leaders and followers, but people involved in bottom-up cooperation who actually give a hoot about not stepping on each other’s toes, pointing fingers and calling names, among the least of other idiotic crap I’ve seen.

      Like this

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,973 other followers

