The Past, the Present, and Future: Toward a sustainably active blog


Arachnofest

Arachnofest

Good morning. I hope that the current run of fiction pieces over the last week or so has proven interesting for you, and if not, that’s okay too — as with the fractal image posts for many of you, not everyone enjoys that sort of thing.

An active blog is an acceptable one, and this site has been active since starting day 1 of December 28 of 2008.

The site has had its ups and downs, and it was most active in 2010, getting some 40,000 pageviews and at least a comment each day that year. My active time spent online and very frequent posting schedule was largely responsible for that, but reality intruded, and I soon discovered that I could not do other things and still keep up that pace.

That was also the year I began building a wider online social network presence, through such sites as Twitter, Facebook, and the paid service blog aggregator BlogSurfer. Then reality intruded, and I discovered the interest to ‘complete’ my education, or at least to come as close as can be done given the years I have left…

…no, I’m not dying any more quickly than most, mind you, but even a long life is brief and precious. I’ve been through 49 complete trips on spacecraft Earth around our stellar primary, and counting.

I discovered the value of lifelong learning, first through introductory college-level courses published by the Teaching Company, and then from other online sources. There was also the use here and elsewhere for the first time of personally-generated fractal art, originally intended only to spice up the other entries on the site but quickly becoming something more.

During the site’s first two years, I’ve posted things that showed poor netizenship on my part, and which today make me cringe a bit upon seeing them clicked on at the stats page when they surface during web searches leading to this site.

But I will keep all of those on the site, as deleting posts doesn’t feel right to me — it seems a not-so-wee bit shady going into this blog’s 5th year and quickly approaching its 2000th comment.

Things got complicated. The bloggosphere got less interesting when my favorite sites disappeared from the web forever, and fellow bloggers burned out and quit blogging. In my own life, educational commitments and new people came into online interactions. My blogging changed, with the decline, some of it recently, of regularly scheduled entries on this site. Many of the regular tools and features now on the site’s admin pages weren’t yet standard WordPress features, and others used then fell by the wayside on constant system upgrades of the servers hosting this blog.

I don’t make a pence from the pageviews this site gets, and I will not if I can help it. Thus, I’ve bought off ads being shown on the site and don’t care nearly as much about pageviews as I once did. I’ve learned that pageviews are less important given my needs, and overconcern for them is irrational and unskeptical.

Sure. Traffic is good to a degree, but online discussion is much more so.

While working on the fiction pieces, a few ideas have presented themselves for this blog’s continued activity, until I migrate over to a different platform for continued posting sometime next year. In the interests of positivity, I’ll tell you what I’m going to do, and only afterward, what won’t be done even if and when it has been:

First, I’d like to put out a call for contributing writers for the site, any who might be interested in offering their time for regular or occassional posting on this blog at their option, who will be given full access to this blog’s admin page.

I’m also putting out a call for any parties interested in contributing guest-posts on the site, which I’d definitely like to see more of.

I’m going to reblog posts more often, with permission when required from the original author, of course, as I’ve slacked off on that in the past year or so.

For those on my personal mailing list, by the time this post comes online, I’ll be back to posting links to the week’s entries on a regular weekly schedule, starting now and continuing from then on each Sunday to the hour noted on my ‘to do’ list.

I’m cutting down on reposting onsite items except where necessary, or unless the item has been properly and accurately updated and expanded with newer and better information.

I’ll be bringing back posts once used as regular features, keeping those elements that work and adding new features not found in earlier installments. Some of those will be posted on specific days of the week, like the upcoming return of the series ‘Caturday’s Astronomy Pix,’ and others, though posted semi-regularly.

I’ll be posting material with appropriate commentary when needed on skeptical, artistic, science, and mental illness topics. I’m interested in all to a degree, and have a personal interest in the latter.

There shall be more book reviews and reviews of online and digital media courses I take, more so than has been done.

I’ll also post more on skeptical activist topics, critical thinking, logic, and on skeptical software tools I come across, but not on Atheism+ or the hubbub going on about it, as I don’t think myself knowledgeable enough to comment on it, nor do I care to get involved. That’s not my kerfuffle.

Since I’ve already done so in earlier posts, and have nothing new to add, I’ll no longer post on anti-theistic topics, including activist atheism, or critiques of religious apologists and their arguments.

I’ll no longer post direct attacks on religions, religious belief, politics, or religious faith, as I’ve been there and done that, thank you. Existing posts will be retained. ‘Nothing here to see, citizen…Move along.’

Only when specific empirically testable religious, political, or other ideological claims intersect or interfere with science will I post on them.

Finally, I’d like to thank all of you absolutely fantastic people who over the years have commented on, critiqued, ‘liked,’ shared, retweeted, and otherwise interacted, both on this blog and across many other social media…

…because you all have made this experience what it was, is, and will be. YOU make it worth keeping at.

Thank you, and Talotaa frang*

Troythulu

*”Stay strong, stay well, and be brilliant as the stars” translated from Old High Kai’Siri

About Troythulu

I seek to learn through this site and others how to better my ability as a person and my skill at using my reason and understanding to best effect. I do fractal artwork as a hobby, and I'm working to develop it to professional levels, though I've a bit to go till I reach that degree of skill! This is a crazy world we're in, but maybe I can do a little, if only that, to make it a bit more sane than it otherwise would be.

Posted on Monday, 0:50, November 18, 2013, in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I once went to a seminar about planning. The lecturer said it was really important not just to have goals and a plan, but to write them down. She said, lots of times we think we know what we are doing or where we are going, but when we write it down it becomes much clearer. I had forgotten all about this, but it sounds like that’s what you have done. Looking forward to seeing how your blog goes in the future.

    Like

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,102 other followers

