Fractals of the Week: Split to the Polyhedrals’ Core


This week, I’ve been experimenting with Mandelbulber’s two lesser-used settings, ‘Interior mode,’ and ‘Enable limits,’ in creating a series of images usable as a guide to drawing by hand a set of deck plans, of an alien warship owned by one of my old SF villains.

The settings I used for these images involve Mandelboxes in the shape of standard polyhedrals, like the sorts of gaming dice used in tabletop RPGs, with part of the image sliced away digitally to reveal the inner, and I think, more interesting structure of these figures.

For some of these, I used a glow effect to look like the inner workings of alien reactor cores or for the fantasy genre, dimensional gateways for horrific creatures to enter the world.

The first two images with this post are two views of the alien starship, which I’ve decided will be a biological construct with many levels for its deck layout, some for storage, some for crew accommodations, and some for the gigantic organism’s internal organs, hangars, and weapons bays.

The first shows the craft’s internals revealed at a 45 degree angle, showing the outside of the ship’s visible 50%, and the second a bird’s eye view directly revealing the vessel to its core.

The other images, of course, are just the result of fooling around once I got the hang of the settings I used. One thing, though: I will no longer be using XaoS images with this post, as due to technical reasons, I find using it with my laptop frustrating, but that’s cool — I still have four apps that give me little trouble, and will continue to use those.

Happy Thursday!

DeckPlanCore

DeckPlanZZ

hedron1 copy

hedron9 copy

hedron4 copy

hedron8 copy

All JPEG, PNG & GIF images in this post are original works by the author,created by

way of Mandelbulber, Fractal Domains, Ultra Fractal , and Mandelbulb 3D and are copyright 2014 by Troy Loy.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Troy Loy

I seek to learn through this site and others how to better my ability as a person and my skill at using my reason and understanding to best effect. I do fractal artwork as a hobby, and I'm working to develop it to professional levels, though I've a bit to go till I reach that degree of skill! This is a crazy world we're in, but maybe I can do a little, if only that, to make it a bit more sane than it otherwise would be.

Posted on Thursday, 0:05, February 20, 2014, in Fractals & Fractionality and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Gnuz & Lynx Roundup: 2014/02/23 | The Call of Troythulu

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,060 other followers

