Caturday’s Astrophenia: 2014/03/15


I’m posting this a bit late for Caturday. My bad, but both yesterday and today, I was experimenting with my first animations via Mandebulber and iMovie, and while not pleased with the overrall results, I’ve a good idea how to make it work with future attempts, in which the quality of the result will actually be worth putting on my YouTube channel, and embedded on this blog in future fractal posts.

This Caturday has been a good if busy day, as the dawn of, here in the Northern Hemisphere, a new Spring, and a break from study for me, until I decide study would be more fun.

I’ll be working on my blog-project on argumentation (I’ve still yet to name it), my fractal tutorials, and study notes for my personal learning projects. Have a good Spring, or Autumn, depending on your hemisphere of residence, and reach for the stars!

A Hole in Mars

Gamma Rays from Galactic Center Dark Matter?

In the Heart of the Rosette Nebula

The Sun Rotating

Messier 63: The Sunflower Galaxy

Polar Ring Galaxy NGC 2685

Apollo 17 VIP Site Anaglyph

Images of the Week:

Hubble/GALEX/Spitzer Composite Image of M81
Source: Hubblesite.org

Planetary Nebula NGC 6543: Gaseous Cocoon Around a Dying Star
Source: Hubblesite.org

Weekly Astrognuz:

Sun Unleashes Intense Solar Flare as NASA Watches (Video)

Economics, water plumes to drive Europa mission study

New Comet Jacques May Pass 8.4 million miles from Venus this July

Hunt Is On for ‘Rogue’ Black Holes

Check Out NASA’s New “Dashboard” for Spacecraft Communications

Rare Diamond Reveals Earth’s Interior is All Wet

Watch Two Dark Moons Sneak Into Cassini’s Shots

NASA Offers Cash Prizes for Help Hunting Dangerous Asteroids

Astrophoto: Beautiful Encounter with the Leaning Tower of Pisa

What Would A Rocky Exoplanet Look Like? Atmosphere Models Seek Clues

Arecibo Observatory Back in Action Following Earthquake Damage

Space History Photo: Seymour Schwartz Conducts an Experiment at the ERC

Rocket Fail Video Shows Human And Technological Risk With Each Launch

‘Live from Space’ Lets You Track the International Space Station Online

Robonaut 2 To Toddle And Waddle Around Space Station This Summer

‘Live From Space': How Astronauts Use Tech to Share Orbital Life with Earth

“Death Stars” Caught Blasting Proto-Planets

NASA Robot Aces Satellite-Refueling Test on Earth

How Do You Jumpstart A Dead Star?

Did Life On Earth As We Know It Come From ‘Geological Life’?

Malaysian Flight MH370: Join the Satellite Photo Search

How Giant Galaxies Bind The Milky Way’s Neighborhood With Gravity

NASA Joins Hunt for Missing Malaysian Jetliner

Physicists Reveal the Hidden Interiors of Gas Giants

NASA’s Powerful Mars Orbiter Sidelined by Glitch

Chinese Satellites May Have Detected Debris from Missing Malaysia Airlines Flight

SpaceX Delays Dragon Cargo Launch to Space Station Until March 30

The Cosmos in Video:

Weekly Astrofave:

COSMOS: A Spacetime Odyssey

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Troythulu

I seek to learn through this site and others how to better my ability as a person and my skill at using my reason and understanding to best effect. I do fractal artwork as a hobby, and I'm working to develop it to professional levels, though I've a bit to go till I reach that degree of skill! This is a crazy world we're in, but maybe I can do a little, if only that, to make it a bit more sane than it otherwise would be.

Posted on Saturday, 20:42, March 15, 2014, in Astrophenia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,102 other followers

