Fractals of the Week: Attack of the Thumbnails!!


This week, I’ll post the results of my exploration of high-resolution images, in thumbnail form. The base image for all of these measure 18,000 x 18,000 pixels at 300 pixels per inch, or about 5×5 feet fully printed out. All of the base images took hours to render, even on my Macbook, so I’m just glad I didn’t try that on the old iMac. That would have been ugly. I like how these turned out, especially with the time they took. I did have to restart the computer to clear the RAM when they were complete, but it was well worth it! For space requirements, these thumbnails all have a reduced resolution compared to the originals.

EmperorAbode copygallifreyite copywebinoid copy

All JPEG, PNG & GIF images in this post are original works by the author,created by

way of  Mandelbulber, Fractal Domains, Ultra Fractal , and Mandelbulb 3D and are copyright 2014 by Troy Loy.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Troy Loy

I seek to learn through this site and others how to better my ability as a person and my skill at using my reason and understanding to best effect. I do fractal artwork as a hobby, and I'm working to develop it to professional levels, though I've a bit to go till I reach that degree of skill! This is a crazy world we're in, but maybe I can do a little, if only that, to make it a bit more sane than it otherwise would be.

Posted on Thursday, 0:41, March 20, 2014, in Fractals & Fractionality and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,080 other followers

