Caturday’s Astrophenia: 2014/06/14


English: The Skeptics Guide crew at TAM 9 Las ...

English: The Skeptics Guide crew at TAM 9 Las Vegas 2011 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

G’day, and happy Caturday. This week was a busy one, and it will be likewise for the next several. I apologize for being a bit slow on posting, but there was a lot going on, and this Monday, I’ve my monthly doctor’s appointment, so my posting schedule is a bit uncertain. I’ll try to get Monday’s post on the Algorithm done, and for this blog, the Weekly Roundup on Sunday.

I’ve done a bit of work on Twitter, and will be updating my lists soon, then beginning the creation and building of new ones. I was looking at those I subscribe to, and was a little surprised to see some that a late friend of mine, the former blogger formerly known as Skeptic Cat, had set up when I followed him on Twitter. Though the links of those lists are dead, as his account no longer exists.

It felt a little odd to see those lists in the column, considering that his account was deleted before 2011, but it also brought back good memories of our exchanges then. I’ll never forget that, not as long as I can help it. “Say what you will about ___, he was always very good to cats,” is a paraphrase of something he had said, spoken of someone else, but true for him as well.

Since he quit blogging, and given the current conflicts in the skeptical community (such as that is) I’ll admit my interest in posting on mainly skeptical topic matter has declined, though I’m trying to revive that. When I first self-identified as a skeptic (I still do, BTW, proudly,) I decided that the best way to be truly skeptical was to have a realistic view of, as well as all other things, skepticism and skeptics themselves.

That means that I knew from the start that lionizing prominent skeptics was a fool’s errand, that even those I admired should be seen as they are, or as they were, warts and all, as real people, never put on a pedestal or in any way hero-worshipped. That philosophy has served me well, and has, despite the current conflicts among rationalists, as allowed me to maintain my self-identity as a skeptic, rather than quitting in disgust, or burning out completely.

I never thought I was going to change the world, and I haven’t, but I’ve certainly met people who’ve changed me, and I thank them to the extent those changes have been positive. The rest I thank for showing me something new and…interesting about human behavior. The same applies to my atheistic and humanist views.

None shall be sacralized or worshipped, not people, not science, not rationalism, not any set of ideas or philosophy. All ideas are to be provisionally open to question in light of better information and arguments. Nor is that subject to sacralization either, merely the best and most reliable path to knowledge I’m aware of.

I’d rather hold the ideas I do with an optimistic yet realistic perspective: Any idea should only be valued to the extent that it actually works to achieve what it is intended to, and to the extent it may be shown not just useful, but true, and none should be held absolutely. That’s worked out well so far. I think that we really can know things with confidence, only not absolutely, and I do not fully understand the need for some that all of their claims to real knowledge be absolutely certain or rest on some ultimate authority. To me, for contingent matters of fact, that’s silly, nihilistic, and a waste of brainpower chasing mythical shadows that can never be caught. I’ve little need of or respect for ultimate authority figures as well.

Well, anyway, here’s this week’s Astrophenia, and may your Caturday be bright and filled with new understanding.

Open Cluster NGC 290: A Stellar Jewel Box

How to Identify that Light in the Sky

M51: X-Rays from the Whirlpool 

Three Galaxies over New Zealand

The Tarantula Zone

A Strawberry Moon 

New York to London Milky Way

Images of the Week:


Galaxy Triplet Arp 274

Weekly Astrognuz:

Autonomous Robots Battle for $1.5 million NASA Prize

Robotic Search for Life on Mars Brings out Human Experiences

Found! Oldest Known Alien Planet That Might Harbor Life

REPLAY: ‘Cosmos’ Webcast with Astronomy Magazine

Curiosity Captures Mercury from Mars

The Sun Pops off Two X-Class Solar Flares in One Day

Surprise! The Earth and Moon May be 60 Million Years Older Than we Thought

Mystery Solved? Why There are No Lunar ‘Seas’ on The Far Side of the Moon

The House Passes FY 2015 NASA Budget

“The Soft Landing is Not Really Soft”

A Cosmic Tadpole in More Ways than One

A Gorgeous (Non-Polar) Vortex

Why Extroverts Could Cause Problems on a Mission to Mars

Private Team to Restart Engines on 36-Year Old NASA Spacecraft

“Carbon Copy” Spacecraft Ready to Track Global Carbon Dioxide

3-D Printer to Fly to Space in August, Sooner than Planned

The Cosmos in Video:

Weekly Astropicks:

Here’s NASA’s New Design for a Warp-Drive Spaceship

About Troythulu

I seek to learn through this site and others how to better my ability as a person and my skill at using my reason and understanding to best effect. I do fractal artwork as a hobby, and I'm working to develop it to professional levels, though I've a bit to go till I reach that degree of skill! This is a crazy world we're in, but maybe I can do a little, if only that, to make it a bit more sane than it otherwise would be.

Posted on Saturday, 0:29, June 14, 2014, in Astrophenia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. great pix. you certainly know how to make the best out of your time! do not forget to rest…

    Like

  2. writing, creating can cause a lot of health hazards if it becomes too addictive… been there, seen that…

    Like

    • I have to agree with you on that. Staying up too late just to finish one blog entry, especially several, has a huge negative effect health from fatigue and lack of sleep. It’s something I have to watch for in myself whenever writing at late night or early morning. Soaking the brain in caffeine during those hours can be hazardous all by itself.

      Like

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Gnuz & Lynx Roundup: 2014/06/15 | The Call of Troythulu

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

jhgoodglass

80's Revivalists UNITE!

Storiform.com

Writing Popular Fiction

Sharmishtha Basu

paintings, poems and thoughts

Realm of Empress Musie

Sharmishtha Basu's poetries

"songbird sings to sun" ebook in amazon

Colours and words two muses dancing together

Thoughts

Realm of Musie (my muse)

Marianne Talbot Philosophy

Marianne is Director Of Studies in Philosophy at the University of Oxford's Department for Continuing Education

La Audacia de Aquiles

El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto

Optimal Human Modulation

Your Space To Defrag

Words on a blackboard

In a world of poems, words steal love and put it on a blackboard

Math Outlet

Math Resources For Elementary Teachers

Kurt Brindley

listening for the wind ------------------------------------- (-% = .oO(( wahooo!! )) -------------------------------------

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Some Bad Plankton

creative outlet plugged in

kvm88

I don't want believe I want to know. - Carl Sagan

Physics and Art

The strange case of Dr. August and Mr. von Orth.

Charlotte Cuevas, Author

Current writing projects: 52 Flashes of Fiction & The 365 Poetry Project: Year 2

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

lalocabrujita

Zingendewoorden

Riley Amos Westbook

A fantasy Author with too much free time on his hands.

Kelsey's Cluttered Bookshelf

My ramblings about books and other random things.

Radhika Mukherjee

Writer. Editor. Dreamer. Eco-Feminist.

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

The Skeptical Teacher

Musings of a science teacher & skeptic in an age of woo.

Sucheta the Scribbler

Random. Purely Random. And then some more...

Eric Ian Huffman

I've come to Write.

Woodland Rambles

A writer, a dog, and miles of trails

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Sausey is Sexy...

Humor, Dating, Sex, and a Whole bunch of Sause...

bdhesse

A writing WordPress.com site

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

Mik Mob's Music Mass

share your favourite tunes with The Mob

Something Like a Storybook

This is where Morgan Bradham shares stuff.

Project i•Am•You

Awareness. Lifestyle. Motivation. Spirituality. Inspiration.

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Zebra Humor

The world's biggest collection of zebra jokes!

koniramm

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Katzenworld

All about (our) cats. Food, toys and other cat related products

nadiaharhash

living in the shoes of a woman

Ray Jay Perreault

Science Fiction writing about aliens with lives you can relate to.

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

The Wrong Triangle

Obscurum per obscurius | Ignotum per ignotius

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,110 other followers

