The Weekly Gnuz & Lynx Roundup: 2014/06/15


Aristotle's Square of Opposition

Aristotle’s Square of Opposition

G’day, and happy Sunday. Well, I’ve finally gotten off my keister and begun some long-needed work on diagrams for a set of notes I took from a philosophy course, one of those being shown to the left of this text in reduced form. It shows the immediate inferences of categorical statements in Aristotelian logic. This weekend and continuing, I’m engaged in a little side project, ongoing but which will no doubt see delays in completing — It’ll be my first skeptical look into fractals, as they are used in New Age mysticism, fringe theory claims, and art.

Things have been building in this direction for some time, since I first began posting fractal images in 2010 online, I’ve noticed their prevalence in the New Age. I’d originally thought little of looking a bit deeper into fractal art and associated ideas as areas of skeptical inquiry, but that’s changed.

Fractal mysticism can result in some gorgeous art, and some rather strange theories about the universe not currently supported by the relevant science. The breadth of  ideas that could be looked into would be whole fields of research by themselves, so I’ll first formulate and refine my questions, which should be a no-brainer, but I’m a bit rusty even as a fan of the Evil Spock school of philosophy with my diabolical arched eyebrows and unfortunate lack of a decent goatee.

*sigh*

But skeptic I am. What better thing to occupy myself than to look into the stranger aspects of my favorite digital art form?

Anyhoo…

I’m having a blast with Indra’s Pearls in preparation for this coming Monday’s post on the Impudent Algorithm, and learning a lot about much of the math used to create fractals, whether drawing them by hand or generating them with computer programs. I’m currently on Chapter #4, “The Schottky dance.” After the last two installments, it’ll be a chapter reviewed each week.

I’ve completed housecleaning on this blog, and will be updating the About pages of this and my other sites as well soon, which by rights I should be doing bimonthly. This installment of the Roundup, I’m bringing back the listing of weekly blog stats for the Call, with the page-views being the weekly total and all-time total for the site.

May your days be bright, and your nights restful…and,

Talotaa frang.

The Weekly Blogs Roundup

Roundup of The Other Blogs

The Odd, the Strange & the Sciencey

Blog Stats

  • Weekly Page views: 218
  • All-time page views: 145, 948
  • Comments approved: 2,132
  • Entries currently posted: 2,200 (does not include entries currently pending review)
  • WordPress and email subscribers: 245
  • Facebook Likes: 30
  • Twitter fellows: 2,150
  • Tumblr fellows: 594

Faster than Light: Warp Drive – SpaceVision 2013

Science vs. Bull$#!%, “Neil deGrasse Tyson vs. Conservative Media

About Troy Loy

I seek to learn through this site and others how to better my ability as a person and my skill at using my reason and understanding to best effect. I do fractal artwork as a hobby, and I'm working to develop it to professional levels, though I've a bit to go till I reach that degree of skill! This is a crazy world we're in, but maybe I can do a little, if only that, to make it a bit more sane than it otherwise would be.

Posted on Sunday, 0:01, June 15, 2014, in Skeplinks & the Linkworthy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thank you for listing the link to my Mrs. Poe review! I’m honestly flattered. :)

    Like

    • It’s a metaphor from an early Buddhist sutra, of the infinitely reflecting pearls of Indra’s net cast over the universe, and each containing its essence in themselves. Apparently, this metaphor had a powerful poetic influence on some mathematicians involved in discovering number patterns.

      Liked by 1 person

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,081 other followers

