The Weekly Gnuz & Lynx Roundup: 2014/06/22


English: Ann Druyan (born June 13, 1949) is an...

English: Ann Druyan (born June 13, 1949) is an American author and media producer known for her involvement in many projects aiming to popularize and explain science. She is probably best-known as the last wife of Carl Sagan, and co-author of the Cosmos series and book, along with Sagan and Steven Soter (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, here I sit at my desk this morning, listening to sitar music and feeling rather…different (this post’s embedded video below). This last week has been quite interesting, and definitely had its moments. I made it to the library this week for the first time in several weeks, which was good, only to discover that my cell wouldn’t call out, a problem that was as frustrating as it was quickly fixed once it was figured out.

Thursday, there was a GURPS game at my place, and I finally got to meet the ebil Nimbus the kitten, @Ravenpenny’s adoptee, while Nimbus got to meet Eccles and Rockykins, who both took some getting used to him. After the game and post-game cleanup was complete, I had a recording session for a podcast episode, and finally got some rest. I went to bed early that night, partly because I was worn out, and partly to get enough sleep to make my daylight hours on Friday a bit more useful.

Friday evening I went to bed earlier still, and did some study before drifting off to sleep, only to have a retrieval practice session the next afternoon, completing that until another next week. I’m currently studying my course lecture notes using Peek, and in the process of setting up notes from new lectures as well in the current format.

My DVD set of #Cosmos episodes came in today, and in this installment of the Weekly Roundup, I’ve linked to an interview with the writer and executive producer of both the earlier and new versions of Cosmos, the unspeakably awesome Ann Druyan, widow of the late Carl Sagan. She’s a remarkable woman, with equally remarkable insights, and her writing shows rather evidently in both Carl’s and Neil Tyson’s dialogue in the show’s earlier and current incarnations.

This week has also been awesome for videos, as with the latest Epic Rap Battles linked to below.

The Blogs Roundup

Roundup of The Other Blogs

The Odd, the Strange & the Sciencey

Weekly Stats (This Blog Only)

  • Entries Currently Posted: 2,206
  • All time Page Views: 146,157
  • Weekly Page Views: 167
  • Facebook Likes: 30
  • Twitter Fellows: 2,154
  • Tumblr Fellows: 595
  • Comments Approved: 2,165
  • WordPress & Email subscribers: 245

Transglobal Underground – Khalghi Stomp

About Troy Loy

I seek to learn through this site and others how to better my ability as a person and my skill at using my reason and understanding to best effect. I do fractal artwork as a hobby, and I'm working to develop it to professional levels, though I've a bit to go till I reach that degree of skill! This is a crazy world we're in, but maybe I can do a little, if only that, to make it a bit more sane than it otherwise would be.

Posted on Sunday, 1:06, June 22, 2014, in Skeplinks & the Linkworthy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. nimbus is a sweet fellow :)

    you should not ignore your rest Troy, you know … health is a priceless wealth

    Like

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,045 other followers

