Daily Archives: Saturday, 15:47, February 12, 2011

Some old alien haiku from an SF fan


Hey, guys. I’m not much of a poet, though a while back I wrote doggerel that popped into my head on a lot of different themes, from cats, to war, to gaming characters, and in this post, a selection of my alien species haiku from some of the more unusual ETs living in my Gods of Terra universe, to me much more interesting than those famous and vastly over-copied failures of the human imagination that populate the current UFO literature.

So here are a few haiku I’ve based on the 5/7/5 syllable tradition. Some of these have been updated for the setting since I first penned them…

Kai’Siri

People of Sirug

Conquerors of many worlds

Brave warriors all.

 

Rhil’Jt’Ar

Reptilian lords

Masters of the Mental Arts

Children of the seas.

 

Mokthraga

Twice the height of Man

The Ever-patient Giants

The Subtle Planners.

 

Miithrok

Mokthraga’s brethren

Potent mystic oracles

Blind by adulthood.

 

Dalaz

Ruthless pack-hunters

Voracious beasts that reason

Once slaves to Kamuz.

 

Terestaal

Relentless machines

Weapons of the Enkidu

Von Neumann mecha.

 

Drelg

Violent tricksters

Seeing All as humorous

Themselves the punchline.

 

Kadakk2

Nigh-ageless elders

Thinking Change anathema

Ruled by the Twelve.

 

Astronomy Pix of the Week for Feb. 6 – 12, 2011


Fractal of the Week: Kaleidoskopik Darwin


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,955 other followers

