Why am I doing this?


This post’s title is something that I ask myself fairly often about continued posting on this site, about why I keep at it, and the answers I get back from the darkness inside my brain-case give me solace.

While it’s true that we often start with a position and retrofit reasons to support it, and at least one great guy whose site I once frequented has left the skeptical blogosphere on a permanent basis, I try to keep my blogging a hobby, fun, a thing I enjoy doing, and let me tell you, I’ve met some very remarkable people through this blog.

After all, If it isn’t fun, then it’s but a chore, and I have enough of those elsewhere to keep me busy for a while, thank you very much.

The people who’ve commented on this site over the past three years have been interesting in a number of ways, and from the enlightening, brilliant, wonderful people I’ve been privileged to meet, all the way to the occasional merely dickish and at times the downright delusional commentators, have all given me food for thought.

It’s also a cool place to post fractals and kitteh pix.

This blog is a learning experience to me, an outlet, an experiment in free-form writing, and a means too meet cool, and sometimes not-so-cool people, though the medium of 21st century internet self-publishing.

A learning experience? Hell yes, because to paraphrase the late Martin Gardner, the best way to learn something is by writing about it, and the best way to improve one’s writing is to keep doing it…

…and I don’t ever want to stop learning, because there’s just SO MUCH STUFF out there I don’t know, and I want to find out as much as I can.

That, and when I hear my silent muse screaming metaphorically in my ears, I listen, else I get no sleep — and a sleep-deprived Troythulu is not a healthy nor a happy Troythulu.

Sometimes I have to take a break from blogging, sometimes as much as a week or so at a time, and that’s cool. It’s one of the reasons I haven’t been permanently burned-out, since I can always post when I feel up to it.

There are no monetary rewards for independent bloggers like me.

Looking back over the earlier posts on this site from a couple of years ago or so, I’m struck by how my style has evolved over time, and my unfounded view is that I’ve gotten a lot better since then, with much better writing and better use of this site’s functionality on the admin & publishing pages.

I don’t see this site so much a skeptical blog as I do the blog of a skeptic, though there is some of the former in what I post.

I’ve only self-identified as a skeptic since late 2006, so I’ve still got a bit to go before I get some serious skeptismo under my belt, though I currently try to avoid debunking, since noble art though it be, I stink at it.

I’ll get around to that when I have some real investigative experience to my name, but that’s going to be a while. I don’t believe in an afterlife — I have no good reason to — but I have a lot to do and so am in no big rush to die.

I’ve already danced with the Reaper once in 2007 and it doesn’t bother me that much any more…

…though it would be an inconvenience, and a rather annoying one at that.

4 thoughts on “Why am I doing this?

  1. > the enlightening, brilliant, wonderful people I’ve been privileged to meet

    gosh, I must protest this effusion of…

    > the dickish and at times the downright delusional commentators

    …brutal honesty!

    Okay, let’s be honest. I only comment on this blog because one day Troy will be OBLIGED to pump sunshine up my own blog — which I maintain I will never start!

    That being said…I am extremely skeptical of everything I can’t verify (or disconfirm) on my own. I read BELIEVER blogs almost exclusively so I can get the doggone dirt. Troy’s blog is the only skeptic blog to which I subscribe because…I forget the reason why…but I am still subscribed so…there! Ah-ha! I win the argument!

    (States that disregard testimony uttered under the influence…please disregard this typo-free though alcohol-informed script.)

    By which I mean…carry on!

    Like

  2. ONce upon a time there was a paerson who said “…lets try this blogging thing…” and quite a few entries later, I find myself sometimes even making sense on WordPress…. (The MySpace days were sometimes and still are once in a while a fun laugh….) ….and then there was Helium…. …yep, there it is… Troy, you need to keep blogging to give me something to respond to, somedays the news is just … . . . . empty of substance (?).

    Like

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

