When Troythulu gets Angry…

Hieronymus Bosch- The Seven Deadly Sins and th...

Image via Wikipedia

Scattered across this site are entries I’ve posted with a variety of writing styles, hopefully with progressive improvements in grammar, spelling, and presentation as the publishing date of the pieces more closely near the present…

…At least I would like to think so, at any rate, with improvements in my tone as well, but it’s only within the last few months that I’ve found a more consistent ‘voice’ on this site. Consistent, but also appropriate to the nature of the entry or comment response needed as the situation demands…

…But here and there are posts which show a bit of sarcastic evilness, pseudo-evilness, quasi-evilness, even the diet-coke of evilness, with many of these entries displaying a veiled, and often not so veiled, displeasure and even outright anger from something, or someone, who raises my ire to unprecedented heights.

Sometimes it’s a situation outside of my blogging hobby, sometimes an online troll, sometimes a self-deluded wacko or willfully cynical charlatan who promotes rubbish and bunkum to exploit people for personal gain.

As it says on my bio-page, I’m not the nicest guy in the world, not a saint (nor do I believe saints exist), and not nearly as mellow as Carl Sagan could be, though I envy his self-control and tact.

He was a good teacher, nothing more, but that’s what counts.

But I’m not him, and can’t be him… I can only be me, so that’s what I strive for. Looking over my more recent posts, and judging from the feedback I’ve gotten from regular readers, it looks like my blogger abrasiveness index is getting lower with time, and I think that’s a good thing, but we’ll see.

I have three ways of dealing with comments that make me angry: I ignore them or I delete them. The third, banning the commentator, is used ONLY as a measure of last resort, followed by notifying the proper authorities, and I have yet to receive any death-threats, though I think it’s only a matter of time…

…since I’ve gained enough notoriety by now that security by obscurity cannot be relied on.

No matter.

I’m aware of the risks of blogging, especially to us guys. I knew it when I created this site in late 2008, and my now-defunct site earlier that year.

Anyway, antagonizing people is no way to communicate anything but anger, and anger makes people shut down and not listen. You cannot convince people of anything by beating them repeatedly over the head and proverbial shoulders with facts and logic, and I do not engage in debates on religion or politics: Religion is a matter of subjective preference and emotional need, and politics one of personal ideology and choice.

This is why I will not engage in debates with anyone on evolution or climate change, for I don’t consider myself competent to discuss the science, and politics just bores the living frack out of me.

Yes, I get angry sometimes, and as an evolved plains-ape with a distinguished unbroken lineage going back billions of years to the first life on Earth, and an enormous psychological burden of evolutionary baggage, it can’t be helped, can’t be totally avoided, though I can mitigate it, and as time goes on, that gets easier.

Here’s looking at outdoing my anger and mastering it, harnessing it for constructive purposes, one day at a time.

4 thoughts on “When Troythulu gets Angry…

  1. I’m with you on the politics side of it, particularly when it comes to economics. I can’t leave the anti-sciencers alone, though. I love beating up on decent trolls. Does that make me a troll too?

    Like

    • On that last? No.

      Some people deserve a sound thrashing, especially when the uncommitted are watching.

      I won’t lie…I’ll still do it, though I try for my very best dickishness when it’s needed at all.

      I’ve done it at least twice on Massimo Pigliucci’s blog.

      Like

  2. I think it’s good to get angry sometimes, especially when there is injustice such as towards children or people who try to rip off old people. But I understand what you mean about using it constructively.
    “and politics just bores the living frack out of me.” – haha I love when your geekiness shows through – it reminds me of myself. By your command!

    Like

    • Thanks. Students study…fractals frack…or something like that. And in any case, I loves me my fractal-making, which raises questions about this blog’s topical theme, but that’s cool — the bloggy is constantly evolving anyway.

      Like

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

