It’s Been a Crazy Year on the Call: 3rd Blogoversary

Well, here it is, the third anniversary of this site, launched during a gaming session this day in 2008, and with both the ups and downs, the joy and the sadness, it’s been a fantastic three years that I’ve been posting my crap, meeting incredible people, and expanding my social networking more than in the previous two years.

2011 for me has been the year of the cat, in both bad and good ways:

One of my favorite sites to visit was deleted by it’s owner only this last March, for reasons which I shall respect as I respect the awesome blogger who owned it…

Farewell =^Skeptic Cat^=

…while another of my cats passed away, old Mistykins, the second to go in as many years…

Goodbye, Mistykins...

but we also adopted a new kitten, the diabolical Mister Eccleston, named in a fit of T.S. Elliot and Doctor Who fandom, who is even now sharpening his claws and playing with his toys on my bedroom carpet in anticipation of more roughhousing amusement at the expense of my soon to be shredded hands!

Yay! Mister Eccles!

Also, this year marks the first giveaway contest for this site, of a new, hardback copy of Margaret Wertheim’s book, Physics on the Fringe: smoke rings, circlons, and alternative theories of everything, ending at 12:00 this morning, with the winner to be announced later this day.

My being a gamer, the winner shall be chosen by a roll of polyhedral dice after a number has been assigned to each contestant’s name(I’m looking at a d20 here…). The winner will be contacted by email, and I’ll set up the delivery arrangements then.

This last year has been a blast, and I hope that the coming new year will be better for all of us, at the very least a door for new opportunities, a fresh start, a clean slate, as a year yet to unfold should be.

Terry, Kate, _C_A_T_, TFIY, Carl, Dan, Kriss, Aliman, Marty, Cheryl, Laurie, Gideon, Diane, Katherine, and all those of you not mentioned who’ve commented, all this site’s subscribers who make this blog the adventure to post on it is, I wouldn’t…couldn’t… do this without you, so thank you, from the bottom of my eldritch heart!

[Last paragraph updated as of 12:54 am Dec 28, 2011]

2 thoughts on “It’s Been a Crazy Year on the Call: 3rd Blogoversary

  1. Happy 3rd blogoversary – and thanks for being such a voice of reason in my sometimes “weird-thing-believers” filled life. I’m sorry that I got so behind on my blog reading lately, but age catches us all out and I have found out I need new glasses. I am currently struggling with the magnifying ones I use for crafts combined with the zoom function, but it’s rather difficult and I am looking forward to getting my prescription next week.
    Thank you for sharing your joy and tears with us, it’s been a lovely year in many ways, but I felt the same sadness at SkepticCat’s moving on. I also understood when you lost Misty as you did when I lost Max.Thanks my friend. Looking forward to a grrrreat New Year. Meow!

    Like

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

