MNQ | Monday’s Noontide Query: Music [A Bit Belated]


The Compton Effect (album)

Image via Wikipedia

Going over my music library, I noticed I’ve got a lot of classical stuff, including a collection of a Balinese musical drama enactment of the ancient Ramayana epic of India, and the usual Western-style classical recordings.

There’s even a collection of Bulgarian folk music deep in my music files, sung in(*drum roll*)Bulgarian, which is really cool and sounds awesome, even if I don’t speak the language.

I’ve got several albums by Greydon Square, both incredibly entertaining and very useful when I’m in a mood to write something angry — his stuff is different from most in getting other regions of my brain working than is usually the case when I listen to music.

Atheist hip-hop… Grand Unified Theory!

Word, Eddie!

My tastes in music can veer toward lyrically-light emotionally evocative pieces, and take away my skeptic card, but I sometimes likes me some New-Agey and Alternative/Electronica style music, including from such artists as Yanni, Enigma, Delerium, and Enya.

*ugh*

There was a time that I listened to Christian rock, even as an atheist, or perhaps more of an apatheist, though eventually I lost interest in most examples of the genre.

Right now the only examples of that genre I bother with are some of U2′s recent work, and a bunch of CDs from groups I’ve never heard of before.

In a society with rapid cultural change, my tastes in music flow along the river of time, and I sometimes use it to inspire my occasional fits of writing…

So,

What sort of music if any do you find entertaining, inspiring, annoying, disturbing, or evocative? Why?

MNQ is a question that I pose to you, my readers, and is posted each Monday, normally at 12:00 PM. Do feel free to comment, and don’t worry yerselves overmuch… I’m not an ogre and I don’t bite…much.

About Troy Loy

I seek to learn through this site and others how to better my ability as a person and my skill at using my reason and understanding to best effect. I do fractal artwork as a hobby, and I'm working to develop it to professional levels, though I've a bit to go till I reach that degree of skill! This is a crazy world we're in, but maybe I can do a little, if only that, to make it a bit more sane than it otherwise would be.

Posted on Monday, 15:15, January 2, 2012, in Queries & Inquiry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,974 other followers

