2012: an Odyssey of Hope for the Future


Arthur C Clarke - RIP

Image by TaranRampersad via Flickr

I think that this, from the late science fiction writer Arthur C. Clarke in an interview he gave, says much about the current problems with fundamentalist theocratic religions and those who champion their advancement at the expense of the rights, freedoms and the lives of others, and more often than should be, their own lives wastefully lost as martyrs to the cause…

There is the possibility that humankind can outgrow its infantile tendencies, as I suggested in Childhood’s End. But it is amazing how childishly gullible humans are. There are, for example, so many different religions — each of them claiming to have the truth, each saying that their truths are clearly superior to the truths of others — how can someone possibly take any of them seriously? I mean, that’s insane. …Though I sometimes call myself a crypto-Buddhist, Buddhism is not a religion. Of those around at the moment, Islam is the only one that has any appeal to me. But, of course, Islam has been tainted by other influences. The Muslims are behaving like Christians, I’m afraid.

“God, Science, and Delusion: A Chat With Arthur C. Clarke” Free Inquiry magazine, Volume 19, Number 2 (Spring 1999)

About Troy Loy

I seek to learn through this site and others how to better my ability as a person and my skill at using my reason and understanding to best effect. I do fractal artwork as a hobby, and I'm working to develop it to professional levels, though I've a bit to go till I reach that degree of skill! This is a crazy world we're in, but maybe I can do a little, if only that, to make it a bit more sane than it otherwise would be.

Posted on Friday, 0:04, January 20, 2012, in Atheism, Religion & Secularism, Quotes & the Quotable and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,973 other followers

