MNQ | Monday’s Noontide Query: Pop Science


This last weekend, I spent some time at the new location of the gaming shop I’ve been going to for years, and while there I got into an interesting discussion with a friend of mine.

We were talking about the weirdness of quantum mechanics, and he brought up the misconception that quantum observation involves some mysterious mystical notion of consciousness, with myself countering that it’s the physical act of measuring the observed particle, dependent only on the physical properties of the measuring instrument, and not what goes on in anyone’s mind, that is involved in ‘observation.’

I plan on following up on that talk with my friend next weekend…

I need to read up on Dick Feynman’s ideas on how a single quantum particle can interfere with itself in a double-slit experiment so I can explain it more clearly…

So…

What common misconceptions of scientific ideas, even outright pseudoscience, have you come across recently in a conversation with someone you know?

MNQ is a question that I pose to you, my readers, and do feel free to comment…I’m not a baby-eating ogre, and I don’t bite…very hard. MNQ is published on Monday of most weeks at 12:00 PM.

About Troy Loy

I seek to learn through this site and others how to better my ability as a person and my skill at using my reason and understanding to best effect. I do fractal artwork as a hobby, and I'm working to develop it to professional levels, though I've a bit to go till I reach that degree of skill! This is a crazy world we're in, but maybe I can do a little, if only that, to make it a bit more sane than it otherwise would be.

Posted on Monday, 12:00, February 13, 2012, in Queries & Inquiry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. A relative told me part of her health problems stemmed from having an extra rib on one side. She claimed to have 12. I told her that was the normal number of ribs. She told me it was 11 because of Adam losing one to make Eve.

    This wasn’t a religious assertion on her part, it was a paranormal variety of hypochondria.

    Like this

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,977 other followers

