Goodbye, Jon Jon…


I’m ending my blogging break today because the universe just got darker. Only this morning, I was idling around on Facebook when I found out about the suicide of Jonathan (Jon Jon) Bartlett, found dead at the age of only 27 in his home.

I remember him from the time what he was just a kid, before growing up, before getting into the army, and losing his legs in Iraq, and despite this, bouncing back stronger than before.

But human strength has its limits, and I think that the events leading up to this were just too much for him.

Farewell, Jon Jon. You were a friend to many, and a hero to your country. Peace out.

One thought on “Goodbye, Jon Jon…”

  1. Jon was my friend too. Thank you for those kind words about our friend. When I first learned of his passing, I thought it was another one of Jon’s jokes. It took about 3 hours before I accepted that it was real. I’m really going to miss that guy. Now I have no one to challenge my idealism.

    Like

Comments are closed.