Troythulu’s Weekly Gnuz Roundup for July 6, 2012


Have a look at the set for explanations.

Have a look at the set for explanations. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Good morning, and I hope you all are having a pleasant Odin’s Wife’s Day.

It’s been an interesting week, and yours truly has even managed to get in some library time and DVD lecture-watching over the past few days, mainly for my Probability and Statistics home study courses, plus some pleasure-reading sans serious note-taking of “Pseudoscience and the Paranormal” 2nd edition by Terrence Hines, which I highly recommend as a source of skeptical goodness.

The biggest news of this and later last week is the apparent discovery of the long-sought Higgs Boson, frequently sensationalized as the “God particle” for reasons unknown to my Troythuluness, and a designation Peter Higgs, the man who theorized its existence, finds most annoying. Good work, CERN….Mission accomplished.

Here’s a piece on the “Six-Pack blog” by Kriss entitled Excuse me, Higgs Bozon I Presume, and another on right-wing mouthpiece and pseudo-historian David Barton, Liars for Barton. – OUCH!

This Monday, I posted a reblog from xkcd.com satirical of Moon landing conspiracy claims, and an essay on many limits and pitfalls of sense experience, which I feel is essential for understanding the very human mistakes we all make in taking our perceptions and face value and thinking that what we see is what is. “Naive realism” can be very deceptive indeed.

On Tuesday, I posted one of the best examples of the “Hitler hears” meme I’ve seen, where he hears that Fermilab’s Tevatron has been shut down, its task now taken up by CERN’s Large Hadron Collider…

Here’s a couple of talks on Left Hemispheres: Richard Dawkins – Now Praise Intelligent Design, on taking back the words and things like morality and technology that have been hijacked by the political Right and religion, and Eugenie Scott – Reason And Creationism.

On the blog Doubtful News, the Creation Museum is running dry on funds and slow on visitors – This will be terribly mean of me, but, “Yay! Happy Happy! Joy Joy!” – cue Ren & Stimpy music…

Less pleasantly, and also on Doubtful News, police attempt to arrest Indian skeptic Sanal Edamaruku, a turn of events which bodes ill for science and rationality in the Land of a Million Gods.

At Laughing in Purgatory,no, You Don’t Have A Right Not To Be Offended, ‘nuf said.

on Space.com, Scientists to Congress: Don’t Cut Planetary Space Missions

I suspect I may rate somewhat evenly among all of these in What kind of atheist are you? on Pharyngula.

on Networked Blogs, an Eyeful of Sound: Discussion of Synaesthesia.

Finally, here’s this week’s Fractal of the Midweek: Forest of Wonders, and a quote by Issac Asimov that I found rather inspirational.

One thought on “Troythulu’s Weekly Gnuz Roundup for July 6, 2012

  1. Thanks for these newsy tidbits. It helps me catch up on anything I may have missed. I’ve now got four more windows open which I shall be reading this minute thanks to your links.

    Like

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

