The Call’s Gnuz & Lynx Roundup | 2015.08.02

 
English: Nandini Ghosal performing an Indian c...

English: Nandini Ghosal performing an Indian classical dance: Odissi at the Coffman Memorial Union in the University of Minnesota. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Whelp, a month of study gone by, another soon to recede from future to past, and a lot more learned. I’ve recently completed a course in Philosophy of Religion (even as one of those Vile Heathens™), Philosophy of Science (because Science!!), and this month I’ll be continuing an introductory Forensic Science course with a mixture of others on my viewing schedule.

In a couple of days or so, Tamil study resumes in earnest with continued revising on most other previous subjects. I’m having a blast learning languages from the South Asian subcontinent and thereabouts, my favorite region of the planet in terms of its diverse peoples and rich history, and I expect to continue doing so at least for a couple of more years into more advanced study.

None of this is currently being done at university. It’s all informal study.

I’ve decided on a new policy: To create a new fictional character each week, and learn a new word, in any language I know or am learning, each day. So far, keeping pace in my blogging and study activities has been fruitful. I multitask when I must, but I know I’m not that good at it, so I single-task on several things in sequence each day, making time to do what needs doing and readying tasks for later when that’s not possible.

Here’s a month full of wonders and with hope, more free of hardship and personal trials than usual for you all. I’ll be sprinkling a bit of Tamil vernacular in my posts as well as the speech of my alien Kai’Siri this month, and working on ideas for a new blog series, Lost in Translation, dealing in depth and context with particular words in a language being developed or studied.

Talotaa frang, talotaa kas, talotaa tranga sulat.

Oh, heck. Just stay brilliant.

The Blogs

The Odd, the Gnuz & the Sciencey

Weekly/Monthly Blog Stats:

  • Posts Currently Published: 2,355
  • Weekly Pageviews: 305
  • Monthly Pageviews: 994
  • Total Pageviews: 161,664
  • Comments Count: 2,299
  • This blog’s Facebook Likes: 40
  • WordPress & Email Subscribers: 290
  • Tumblr Fellows: 1,188
  • Twitter Fellows: 2,272

How Big Could a TITAN Be in Real Life [Because Science…]

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

