The Call’s Gnuz & Lynx Roundup | 2015.08.09


Whelp, the weekend is almost over, and I’ve noticed something interesting for the first time in a while: Upon seeing a fractal image with a sky blue background, I can almost, but not quite, hear the electronics of the Gary Wright song, “Dreamweaver” from the 1970s or thereabouts, in my head.

This first came to my attention some years ago when seeing a Collatz fractal looking as though it was hanging in an empty and perfectly clear sky. I’m very close to certain that it was this one – the image links to its Wikimedia Commons page when clicked:

 

That sensation has never fully left over the years, and I’m wondering if that has anything to do with my fascination with fractals or with my unusual…psychology. The association feels a bit like synesthesia, though not quite to the level of fully audible sound, more of an almost-sound in my mind’s ear, so to speak. I noticed it again last evening with this recently generated wallpaper of my own, still that same near-sensation of music, combined with a stark, alien sense of mathematical strangeness and beauty.

Newton_2_512_288_2

Anyhoo, I’ll be spending extra time studying tomorrow and the rest of this week, as I’m having a blast taking notes and practicing techniques from a course on mental mathematics, and incorporating some mnemonics I’ve learned from it in my language studies, the Major system and the Pegword method. I’ve even found a way to use the Major system to easily expand use of the Pegword method, which has even more win!

Talotaa frang, talotaa kas, talotaa tranga sulat.

The Blogs

The Odd, the Gnuz & the Sciencey

Blog Stats:

  • Posts Currently Published: 2,368
  • Total Pageviews: 161,860
  • Comments Count: 2,299
  • This blog’s Facebook Likes: 40
  • WordPress & Email Subscribers: 290
  • Tumblr Fellows: 1,208
  • Twitter Fellows: 2,268

Daniel Dennett: Can Churches Survive the New Transparency?

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

