The Call’s Gnuz & Lynx Roundup | 2015.09.13


English: Qutb Minar, Delhi, India

English: Qutb Minar, Delhi, India (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Welp, it’s a new week, and that means uncertainty in what’s to come…but that’s okay, since I don’t believe that certainty in matters of contingent fact is possible anyway. It’s a category mistake to try to apply logical certainty to a domain where it doesn’t belong. But I’m confident that things will turn out well — not certain, just confident. It’s a confidence based on evidence, and subject to revision by whatever evidence turns up in future. I’ve created new digital flashcards for my Hindi lessons, and am currently using them in my study this week. Very effective so far, and fun too.

I’m listening to a mindfulness lecture as I type this, and it’s not that bad, but has a different flavor from a previous series of lectures on the subject. This lecture’s about thought-conditioning and unskillful thinking, something this writer is frequently guilty of…even as a skeptic.

I’m a skeptic, not because I’m rational or logical, but because I know damn well that I’m not, at least at some critical junctures.

I’m a skeptic so that I can know of and acknowledge my weaknesses, and I know that if I’m not very, very careful, I can and will be fooled like anyone else.

I do myself no favors in not conceding my limitations, for I cannot overcome an enemy that I do not or cannot admit exists.

That enemy is a seething morass of possible self-deception, illogical thinking, poor argumentation, biases and fallacies in thought, memory, or sensory perception that can easily lead me astray when I’m not careful. And all of that under everyday circumstances.

No, I don’t need mischievous incorporeal beings to mislead me when I have a perfectly ordinary human brain that’s quite capable of doing that all by itself.

No Cartesian ‘evil genius’ required.

Well, I hope to make it a good week, and I hope the same for all of you as well. May your days be bright, and your nights illumined by those mighty faraway suns we know as stars.

TfTkTts.

The Blogs

The Lynx, The Gnuz & The Science

Weekly / Monthly Blog Stats:

  • Posts Currently Published: 2,423
  • Total Pageviews: 163,064
  • Comments Count: 2,344
  • This blog’s Facebook Likes: 40
  • WordPress & Email Subscribers: 292
  • Tumblr Fellows: 1,259
  • Twitter Fellows: 2,277

Professor Lee Berger: Meet Homo naledi

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

