The Call’s Gnuz & Lynx Roundup | 2015.10.04

English: My own work

 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

G’day! I’m back to studying Bengali more fully this month, and have completed a deck of digital flashcards, to be followed by further decks, including hardcopy for an actual physical file cabinet thanks to my new workstation. This month I’m turning my focus to vocabulary and grammar, and more complex sentence construction, the real goodies of the course!

I need that so that I can write verse, prose, and converse with others without butchering the language! There’s also the matter of listening to Bengali online radio stations, and reading the works of Bengali authors in the vernacular.

Next month’s primary language will be Tamil.

I’ve also been transcribing notes from prior Great Courses lecture series’ on Analysis and Critique into Evernote, which has proven invaluable as a study tool.

There will be no changes in my weekly blogging schedule for this month, though I’m thinking of participating in NaNoWriMo next month. I’ll announce my decision on that in next week’s Roundup, once I weigh my options and decide on what story to write.

May you have nothing but good days this week, and in Soruggon,

Talotaa frang, talotaa kas, talotaa tranga suulat.

The Blogs

The Odd, the Cool, the Gnuz & the Science

The Blog Stats:

  • Posts Currently Published: 2,441
  • Total Pageviews: 163,785
  • Comments Count: 2,379
  • This blog’s Facebook Likes: 40
  • WordPress & Email Subscribers: 292
  • Tumblr Fellows: 1.309
  • Twitter Fellows: 2,269

Steven Novella – Science-Based Medicine: Beyond Integrated Medicine

4 thoughts on “The Call’s Gnuz & Lynx Roundup | 2015.10.04

  1. Nice to see the blog round up this week and thanks for link my blog “Common Sense is Not So Common”…. I also was reading your blog and become curious to know that you are learning Bengali. Very good. Out of my curiosity may I know what inspired you to learn Bengali and Tamil? I am a Bengali, if any help you may need feel free to ask me. I will be glad to share my language info. Wish you all the best in learning. Vikram

    Like

    • Thank you, Vikram. One of the more basic reasons I have for learning these languages is a general fascination with things Indian, particularly the cultures of the Indian states and subcontinent.

      There was an episode of the original Cosmos television series where Carl Sagan discussed the scientific and mathematical achievements of the Gupta empire, and there was a segment on the South Indian tradition of Pongal, which may have begun my interest.

      I’m also not shy of admitting that I think many of the ladies of the region to be among the most beautiful in the world, though I’m no lecher, and any impropriety is simply out of the question.

      Even though English is, from what I’ve seen, fairly commonly in use in India, I like learning new languages, as that’s good for the brain’s long-term health. I’ve studied Latin, Pilipino, and Japanese many years ago, so why not Indian languages into my second half-century?

      It’s fun to think in other languages, so I’ve selected Bengali, Tamil and a third, Hindi, so that I can learn to speak, read, and in time, think like a native speaker, as well has enjoy Indian films and radio stations.

      So, I’ll just have to travel this road, and see where the journey takes me. >

      Liked by 1 person

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

