Caturday’s Astrophenia | 2015.12.05

Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 21.10.01

vanakkam, namaste, namaskar, as-salam-alaikum. This post’s essay deals with something other than astroscience, so please bear with me. As I type this, I’m listening to podcasts, and the thought had occurred that my early work with fractals, especially from my middle period from 2012-2013 has been…less than optimal. There was much that looking back I think could have been done better, images better realized, better actualized than was the case — in short, I sometimes think of my work in less than favorable terms, sometimes to the point of hating some of the early images — but also noting that much of that work, though retained in my archives, sometimes posted online, was experimental. I was still trying out the basics of navigating the apps, all but one of which I can still use.

I’m looking at you, Mandelbulber… *glares* 🙂

Sure. There are things I could have done more ambitiously, things I would have done better had I thought of it. But this is counterproductive, and the reality is that the Hindsight bias is not doing me any favors, so I’ll just continue to develop my technique, make better use of the technology, and with little doubt I’ll regard much recent work with the same misgivings as fractals past. Much of my early work, on this blog and elsewhere, seems stillborn, failed, to me.

But I’m fine with that. I consider that many of the truly failed experiments have never been published, their files never rendered or saved, that what I’ve put out to be seen online was probably the best possible given my level of skill at the time.

So, I’ll continue as I am, no problem with that, continue experimenting, working things out, and working them through.

I’m currently involved in playing with transparency settings for Mandelbulb3D, on a new City of Glass project like I did a few times with Mandelbulber. The objective is to create new images, better done, on an app which still functions on my current OS and like it, creating fractals that look like stained glass cities and other glassy structures. Here’s hoping that turns out well, though with allowances for possible failure. I must at least try, Jedi Master Yoda quotes to the contrary.

So it goes. I hypothesize that I can get this worked out, and the best test of a hypothesis is to test it against the real world, be the results success or failure.

Let’s see how this turns out.

Phobos: Doomed Moon of Mars

A 212 Hour Exposure of Orion

Aurora over Clouds

Unusual Pits Discovered on Pluto

Planets of the Morning

Gravity’s Grin

Rosetta and Comet Outbound

Dark Sand Cascades on Mars

In the Center of Spiral Galaxy NGC 3521

Nebula in Auriga

Golden Gate Sunset: Green Flash

Enceladus: Ringside Water World

Cygnus: Bubble and Crescent

Kepler Orrery IV

Image of the Week:

Weekly Astrognuz:

New Horizons Takes Closest Image Yet of a Kuiper Belt Object

Climate Week Part 3: Extreme Weather Linked to Global Warming

Climate Week Part 4: Global CO2 levels reach 400 ppm forever

Climate Week Part 5: There Is Still Hope.

To Jupiter with JunoCam!

Newborn Planet Being Kicked out of the Nest

Weekly Space Hangout, Dec. 4, 2015

Mars Mission Team Addressing Vacuum Leak in Key Science Instrument

Big Picture Science Radio Show: Happily Confused

What Are The Earth’s Layers?

Pareidolia: Artificial Face Made from Morphing Inanimate Objects

LISA Pathfinder Carries Advanced NASA Thruster Tech

Gemini Planet Imager Exoplanet Survey – One Year Into the Survey

Should We Go to Mars, Or Back to the Moon?

Loss of Carbon in Martian Atmosphere Explained

NASA’s Big Mars Story

Is Space Travel Worth It? Spoken Word with Mark Grist

via The Royal Institution‘s YouTube channel

Enhanced by Zemanta

One thought on “Caturday’s Astrophenia | 2015.12.05

  1. I learned to knit in 1962 at the age of 12. My first efforts were so hideous that the woman who was teaching me threw up her hands and bade me leave and never return. I’ve made a little progress since then.

    And so it goes for any art form or craft — there’s always a learning period that results in some “interesting” products. Keep at it, learn and make progress. I love the images you share.

    Liked by 1 person

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

