Caturday’s Astrophenia | 2016.01.09

Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 21.10.01

G’day, vanakkam, namaste, namaskar. Now that the year is underway, there is much to be done, and much to explore. From some recent ideas I’m currently entertaining for new blog installments, to the recent task of reorganizing this site, things are going well. This last Thursday marked the official end of last year’s blogcation and my return to regular posting. I’m making more extensive use of graphic headers for posts, and am working on one for the installments on my new SF universe, Lyapunov’s Children, using Lyapunov-based fractal formulas and coloring algorithms, mostly via UltraFractal, and once I figure out how to wrangle visible results out of it, Mandelbulb 3d as well. More details when that’s complete. I’d like to flesh out ideas for the setting, and writing about it is the best way I know to do that.

I’ve been writing every day, at least 500 words or more in a journal, even though posting on this blog is limited to every other day. Better to limit posting schedules for when I have completed material to publish!

It’s important that I also attend to at least quasi-regular posting on my other blogs as well, the Collect Call, the Prank Call, and the Checkerboards. Oh, darn, there’s that word “quasi” which reminds me too much of Dr. Evil from the Austin Powers movies… *Ahem*

So, I’m still studying Bangla as my main subject, though as I’m doing it in an entirely informal setting, I have to take into account life situations, priorities, and daily issues when planning my study periods. I’ll keep you all up to date on my progress at some point, suffice to say that that I plan on covering several more study units from two current textbooks and sets of audio files before the next 18 week semester is over. Practice, practice, practice … and lots of casual reading and listening to online Bengali radio stations! There is verse and prose to be written, and sadhu basa literature to read, particularly the earlier works of Rabindranath Tagore in the vernacular.

May the year be coming along swimmingly for you all, and may things go well as the months roll on. You’re all awesome, the lot of you, and it is you who make this blog the joy to write on that it is. This is going to sound odd coming from a religious nonbeliever like me, but I feel truly blessed by you and your readership.

Thank you, and rock on!

Doomed Star Eta Carinae

Falcon 9 First Stage Landing

Dust of the Orion Nebula

The Fox Fur Nebula

Solstice Sun at Lulworth Cove

Comet Catalina Tails

Sky Lights in the New Year

A Starry Night of Iceland

Earthset from the Lunar Reconnaisance Orbiter

The Lagoon Nebula in Hydrogen, Sulfur, and Oxygen

Comets and Bright Star

High Energy Andromeda

Prometheus and the F Ring

Barred Spiral Galaxy NGC 1300

Image of the Week:

M101

Weekly Astrognuz:

Weekly Space Hangout, January 8, 2016

High-Res Mosaic Shows Long Strip of Pluto’s Surface

X Marks a Curious Corner of Pluto’s Ice Plains

Stars Have Magnetic Personalities

Understanding Juno’s Orbit: An Interview with NASA’s Scott Bolton

Babak Tafreshi Photo of the Milky Way

Strengthening Our Space Technology Future: Snapshots of Success

Big Picture Science Radio Show: A Stellar Job

What’s Ahead for Recovered SpaceX Falcon 9 Booster?

Two Moons Align Perfectly in a Picture from Saturn

NOAA’s GOES-S, T, and U Satellites are Shaping Up

REU: Summer Research Experience for Undergraduates

Curiosity Rover Studies Active Martian Sand

Enhanced by Zemanta

2 thoughts on “Caturday’s Astrophenia | 2016.01.09

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

