The Call’s Gnuz & Lynx Roundup | 2016.01.11


Screen Shot 2015-11-21 at 19.50.30

Good morning, slamalaikum, namaste, vanakkam, namaskar. As I type this, I’m listening to a radio station in Dhaka, Bangladesh, Radio Dhoni 91.2 FM, discovered quite by accident via iTunes only this last evening. It’s particularly interesting to me because I’m picking out more of the discussions during the news segments than I might have a few weeks ago while poking about on the Web. I’ve made plans this week to try my hand at going beyond simple prose, and come up with a few pieces of decent Bangla verse by next week. I’m approaching the next milestone in my textbook study and practice, and I’ll post a update of my progress when I reach it.

I’m still playing with ideas for graphic headers to use with more blog posts, and here are a couple of the trial results for Lyapunov’s Children and Ubi Dubium…

JyapunovsChildren

UbiDubium

These use the Transformers and Antikythera fonts respectively. Please let me know what you think!

I’ll be bringing back the posting of once-a-week pictorials like Wordless Wotan’s Day and Cat Thursday, but NOT restricted to those days, while developing graphic headers for the given day of the work week they will be published. That means doing five distinct headers for each installment. That means much experimentation with images and fonts. It’s something I’ve already done on a smaller scale with the weekly fractal posts.

I’ve discovered a new skeptical podcast, The ESP: The European Skeptics Podcast, and will be posting a review and shoutout for the show this next Sunday.

It’s a big week ahead, with much to get done. It’s time to get this year underway!

TfTkTts.

The Blogs

The Odd, the Cool, the Gnuz & the Science

The Blog Stats:

  • Posts Currently Published: 2496
  • Total Pageviews: 167,222
  • Comments Count: 2453
  • This blog’s Facebook Likes: 40
  • WordPress & Email Subscribers: 300
  • Tumblr Fellows: 1456
  • Twitter Fellows: 2292

Song for Skeptics: Keisha Gray & George Hrab

3 thoughts on “The Call’s Gnuz & Lynx Roundup | 2016.01.11

    • It’s coming along very well so far. Besh bhalo. I’ve gotten used to the basic script, even with a few more conjunct letters to learn, and I’ve moved on to the dialogue section. I need to work on my pronunciation of the dental and retroflex consonants, as I still sound almost like a stereotypical foreigner in a comedy film with my T’s and D’s. With another 18 week semester period coming up, I expect to have completed all the dialogues once it’s over and have some comfort with live conversation.

      Like

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

