Fractals of the Week | 2016.09.07


Screen Shot 2016-08-11 at 17.12.20

Talotaa frang (be well!). This week, I present some wallpapers via UltraFractal 5, two of them with an embossed look, as I explore the app’s flexibility with that sort of image. There seems to be a compatibility mismatch between certain formulas and the embossing coloring algorithm, so it’s not going to work for all. I’m in the process of learning more about the code the formulas are written in to expand, through custom presets, the variety of interesting fractal types that may be used. This will be combined with a more thorough look at the formulas and options possible for them, to expand my sample size when it comes to knowing what code of what formulas permit embossing. One thing is a definite improvement over XaoS embossed fractals, and that’s the shading and color that’s possible through UltraFractal.

So here’s a sample of that.

UP5_25D

This has a curious, almost spiky quality to it, centering on a mini-Mandelbrot set, almost like a spider at the center of its web. This was a deep zoom, with a slight incompatibility to the coloring algorithm, that apparently did not significantly hurt the image.

UP5_26D

This was a normal, non-embossed fractal, using a rings-and-loops coloring algorithm, that I nonetheless had fun with. My favorite is for last…

UP5_25K

 This uses a Newton fractal type with embossing, and here I’ve adjusted the shading angle sightly for effect.

These images are all 1600×900 pixels in size, so click to humoungify for full size.

Tf. Tk. Tts.

All JPEG, PNG & GIF images in this post are original works by the author, created via a variety of apps and unless otherwise stated are copyright 2016 by Troy Loy. I hereby permit the free, noncommercial use of these images, with proper attribution or a link back to the original source. Thank you!

2 thoughts on “Fractals of the Week | 2016.09.07”

    1. Thanks! I have to admit, it’s a favorite of mine. I may still have the file I used to generate it, and if so I can make a larger version of it. I’ll look for it in my preset folder, and try to recreate it if it’s not there, which I may kick myself for — Bad MC Fractal!

      >

      Like

Commenting below. No spam or trolling, or my cats will be angry.

